//
You're reading...
Recipes

National Sweet Potato Month

Happy National Sweet Potato Month! I absolutely adore sweet potatoes. When I was little, my dad used to make them for me all the time. So much so, my family came to know they should have sweet potatoes made whenever they saw me. Now that I think about it, I’m pretty sure my dad prepared them so often because he knew how good they were for me. Thanks Dad! :)

So in honor of Sweet Potato Month, I went on the search for a new recipe. No more sweet potato casseroles or just throwing them in the oven to bake. I really wanted to try something unique this time, and boy did I find it!

Compliments of Rachael Ray: Spicy Sweet Potato Pancakes with Guacamole

Ingredients:

  • 2/3 cup light olive oil or peanut oil, for frying
  • 1 large Idaho potato, peeled and shredded
  • 2 medium sweet potatoes, peeled and shredded
  • 1 small onion, peeled
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour, cracker meal or matzo meal
  • 1 tablespoons chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons smoked sweet paprika
  • 2 teaspoons ground cumin
  • 2 teaspoons coriander
  • Salt
  • 2 Hass avocados
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/2 medium red onion, finely chopped
  • 1 small glove garlic, pasted up with some salt
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and finely chopped
  • 3/4 cup pomegranate juice

Directions:

Heat about 1/3 cup of oil over medium to medium-high heat. Drain the shredded potatoes, pressing them down in a colander to get their moisture out. Place the potatoes in a bowl; using a box grater, grate the onion directly into the potatoes so that the onion juices fall into the bowl as well. Add the egg and flour or meal to the bowl then season with spices and salt. Combine and drop enough batter into hot oil to make 2 1/2-inch pancakes. Add more oil, as needed, and fry cakes in batches until deeply golden on each side.

You will get about 16 pancakes. Drain cooked cakes on paper towels. Cut the avocados in half, all the way around the pit. Remove the pit with a spoon, then scoop the flesh into a bowl and add the lemon juice, onion, garlic, jalapenos and a generous amount of salt. Mash the guacamole to a smooth consistency. Reduce the pomegranate juice to a syrup. Arrange the potato pancakes on a platter and top with heaping spoonfuls of guacamole. Drizzle pomegranate syrup over the guacamole and serve.

 

Ok, so I have to be honest, I didn’t have the easiest time making this recipe. For one, I think the measurements of ingredients were a little off. I didn’t add the whole red onion to the guacamole or the second jalapeno. Maybe my avocados were just too small, but it would have been an onion and jalapeno salad if I had! I also could not, for the life of me, get my pancakes to stick together. Oh, and to top it all off, I was about 2 seconds from having my pomegranate juice reduced into a perfect syrup when I got distracted by the Madonna special on TV and turned away for a second too long. By the time I looked back I had a smoldering pot of gross burnt brown syrup. Whoopps!

Avocados were definitely too small...

I was pretty proud of this...used my new food processor and everything!

Final product...

Even after all my mishaps, I think it turned out ok. Of course I was so frustrated by the time it came time to actually eat that I didn’t enjoy it as much as I could have. You live and your learn…or perhaps you cook and you learn. It really was an incredibly unique pairing of flavors though. And it didn’t matter that my pancakes weren’t really pancakes because my stomach, quite frankly, didn’t know the difference!

If you try it, take a picture and share it on our Facebook page. I’d love to see if you had better luck with this one than I had! ;)

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at whatโ€™s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

