//
You're reading...
Living Veggie

What do you eat before exercising?

I’ve been dancing for as long as I can remember, literally. So I feel confident to say that I’ve learned a lot over the years about what to eat and what not to eat before exerting myself, specifically before a dance performance. Having a particularly sensitive stomach to begin with, nerves that come along with performing only add to the importance of paying attention to what I eat before it’s time to go on stage. My stomach tells me that I’m nervous before my brain does! Maybe it’s because I’ve trained the rest of my body to not be affected? Who knows…but they do say that your stomach has emotions too. :-P

So if exercising is stressful for you, or maybe you just can’t seem to get your body to feel like it’s at your full potential while exercising, it could be because you need to pay attention to what you’re eating.

I usually eat a filling meal 2-3 hours before a show. For a lot of people, carbohydrates do the trick. For me, I like to have more of a balanced meal. Before my last performance, I had tempeh for some protein, broccoli for the fiber (to hopefully help my nerves), and a little bit of pasta salad for energy from the carbs. Then, about an hour before warming up, I ate a banana. Therefore I’ve given myself enough nourishment, enough time to digest, and a little kick start right before go-time.

The key is to know your body and know what makes it feel good. If your body doesn’t feel satisfied, then how can you exercise effectively?

Now, I’m certainly not a doctor so please remember these are only my personal experiences- but they’ve worked for me! :)

Here are a few pictures of my latest performance:

A couple of candid shots...

The view from backstage- I always think it's neat how the lights look one way back stage and completely different to the audience.

What is your go-to food before you exercise?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

