//
You're reading...
Living Veggie

The China Study

“The study can be considered the Grand Prix of Epidemiology” – The New York Times

Have you read The China Study yet?

I’m currently completely immersed – I cannot put the book down.

The China Study is a comprehensive study and explanation of how a plant-based diet can reduce your risk of cancer, diabetes, heart disease, and obesity. Dr. T. Colin Campbell declares, “I propose to do nothing less than redefine what we think of as good nutrition. You need to know the truth about food, and why eating the right way can save your life.”

The findings of Dr. Campbell’s years of research are — in my opinion — astonishing. I’m really struggling to find another way to describe what I’ve read so far. I haven’t finished the book yet, but what amazes me the most about it, is that there hasn’t been a wide spread reaction to what he unveils. I’m certainly not a doctor or a scientist, and while I realize there have been many critiques of the study, I just can’t understand why the book hasn’t flat-out changed Americans’ diets already.

I personally get frustrated with diet trends and the latest pill you can supposedly take to lose 20 pounds in a week. I know I’ve said this before, but I honestly don’t think Americans are gullible or unintelligent. I believe we have been misguided, and I think The China Study does a tremendous job of informing us of the real benefits of good nutrition.

So if you’re looking for a good read, I’d highly recommend picking up this one. As a vegetarian, health-conscious individual, I can say with confidence that it has opened my eyes to a view of nutrition I was not previously aware of.

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Father’s Day « Blog-itarian - June 14, 2011

  2. Pingback: Forks Over Knives – Have you seen it? « Blog-itarian - June 29, 2011

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

