//
You're reading...
Recipes

Tis’ the season for giveaways… and chili!

Has anyone read Kathy Hester’s new cookbook called The Vegan Slow Cooker?

Kathy – a food writer, recipe developer, and blogger specializing in healthy cooking and slow cookers - was nice enough to send me a copy of her new cookbook before it was even released. Thank you Kathy! Even though I love the book, it wouldn’t seem right to keep it all for myself, so instead it has inspired me for my next giveaway. I’m going to pass the book on to one of you so you can also enjoy Kathy’s recipes as we move into these chilly months!

Until reading through the recipes, I really never knew how anything coming out of a slow cooker could be anything more than a pile of mush. Clearly my slow cooker skills are lacking. But – WOW – did this cookbook take me by surprise!

Kathy has everything from breakfast dishes, to chilies, to desserts, and back again. All made in a slow cooker, and ALL vegan! Seriously, if you have a slow cooker that sits in your cabinet season after season, this cookbook is for you!

Keeping with the weather here in New England, starting today for the next week or so, I’m going to be making various chili recipes from Kathy’s cookbook and sharing my experiences here with you all. (Don’t worry I’m being very careful with the pages – it will still be like new!) To enter for a chance to win the cookbook, you’ve got to play along with my week of slow cooker cooking!

OK, exhale… you don’t have to make a recipe every night to enter! Just make one slow cooker recipe using a Lightlife product, and post a picture to our Facebook page telling me what it is. Leave me a comment here also so I know you’ve entered. My coworkers and I will vote on which picture looks the most delicious, and the winner will receive the cookbook!*

Kathy has a ton of great slow cooker recipes using Lightlife products on her blog – so if you need some inspiration I’d start there. :)

My first official Kathy Hester recipe was Vegan White Chick’n Chili with Smart Strips Chick’n. I’ve been eying this recipe on her blog for a few weeks now and was thrilled to finally try it out.

                     

Stay tuned over the next week to see what I make next and happy slow cooking! I can’t wait to see all your pictures!

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

*Giveaway closes at 10pm EST 12/8  Giveaway is officially closed! The winner is Summer – I’ll be emailing you shortly!

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

15 thoughts on “Tis’ the season for giveaways… and chili!

  1. What a great way to do the giveaway!

    Posted by Kathy Hester (geekypoet) | November 30, 2011, 3:26 pm
  2. I entered a picture on the FB page!

    Posted by Summer | December 1, 2011, 9:35 am
  3. What Is The Method?

    Posted by Damion Critcher | December 1, 2011, 6:05 pm
  4. Man I love slow cooked meals–and if I can sneak a vegan meal past my meat obsessed lover man- all the better!

    Posted by Kayte CookWatts | December 2, 2011, 1:11 pm
  5. And the winner is Summer! Thanks for entering everyone :)

    Posted by Blogitarian | December 12, 2011, 9:51 am
  6. 95 Slow Cooker The Best Cookbook Ever With More Than 400 Easy to Make Recipes 24.

    Posted by Justin Ranukete | December 18, 2011, 6:06 pm
  7. I’m really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself? Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog like this one today..

    Posted by Lonnie Michalczik | December 30, 2011, 6:57 pm
  8. Hi there, I found your website by the use of Google at the same time as searching for a similar subject, your web site came up, it seems to be great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Posted by Christian Roan | February 4, 2012, 8:28 pm
  9. I entirely like this blog! Please post more tutorials…

    Posted by Terri Radziwon | February 5, 2012, 7:56 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Healthy Holiday Giveaway – LightLife | Healthy Slow Cooking - December 1, 2011

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gift Ideas and 2 Giveaway Winners Announced | Healthy Slow Cooking - December 2, 2011

  3. Pingback: Holiday and announced the winners of Giveaway 2 gift ideas | Vegan Vegetarian - December 2, 2011

  4. Pingback: Vegan Slow Cooker Recipes…MmMm Good! « Blog-itarian - December 8, 2011

  5. Pingback: Holiday Gift Ideas and 2 Giveaway Winners Announced | Healthy Slow Cooking - March 25, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

