//
You're reading...
Recipes

Spring Pasta…A Vegetarian Delight!

Spring is in the air and it’s time to break away from root vegetables in my kitchen. My local farmers market opens at the end of the month and I can barely wait to add a variety of locally grown veggies back into my cooking routine!

I’ve been reading about farmers markets across the country, patiently waiting my turn since Massachusetts’ growing season is so far behind everyone else. The anticipation has inspired me to make a vegetarian recipe that screams spring because it incorporates one of the first vegetables to break ground here; fiddleheads! Fiddleheads are the young coiled fronds of an ostrich fern, and taste kind of similar to asparagus in my opinion.

         

Spring Pasta with Smart Bacon

Serves 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 pkg rotini pasta, cooked
  • 6 slices Smart Bacon, diced
  • 1.5 lbs fiddleheads, well rinsed
  • 1 spring onion, chopped
  • 2 cups morel mushrooms, chopped
  • ¼ cup olive oil, divided
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • ¼ tsp salt
  • ½ cup vegan parmesan (optional)

Directions:

Prepare clean fiddleheads by boiling for 10 minutes in a medium pot. Once tender, drain and set aside. In large sauté pan, heat 2 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. When hot, add spring onions and stir every minute or so. After 3 minutes, add mushrooms, fiddleheads, Smart Bacon and garlic. After five minutes, add remaining olive oil and salt. Sprinkle with parmesan and serve immediately

         

I wish fiddleheads were around for longer, but then again I guess what makes them so special is that you can only find them at a certain time of the year.

What is the first spring vegetable where you live? Do you get inspired in the kitchen when different vegetables come into season?

Rachael

Your Lightlife Blogitarian

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

One thought on “Spring Pasta…A Vegetarian Delight!

  1. YUM!! I made this (to the best of my ability) this past weekend! I added some cumin seasoning and a mexi blend cheese for a cinco de mayo treat that my family LOVED. I am also a blogger trying to create and share simple family-friendly recipes that pack a protein punch. My husband and I are both very active and need to sneak in energy boosters in our meat-free diet. Check it out if you are interested: http://thelivelyvegetarian.blogspot.com/.

    Thank you for the AWESOME ideas and continued support to the vegetarian community.

    Yours in good health,
    Emily

    Posted by Emily Stevenson | May 7, 2012, 10:10 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 77 other followers

