//
You're reading...
Recipes

Root Veggies

Oh, how I love root veggies! It’s a little bit like a love affair actually. Of course I love all veggies, all the time, but there is something about the ones that come from under the ground that really just get me.

Just kidding, I’m not really that obsessed with them, but I do particularly love onions and garlic and tend to include them in everything I make. Until a recent article by VegNews came out about the benefits of root veggies, I never really knew how good they are for you. Did you know that an onion’s outer layers contain the most concentrated areas of flavonoids? No? Well, me neither. In fact I’ve never even heard of flavonoids, which according to the article, is the part of the onion that provides antibacterial benefits. So, now I know not to peal too many layers off my onions. Thanks VegNews!

Since we are moving quickly into the season of spring and summer veggies, I’d thought I’d share one more recipe with root veggies for ‘winters’ sake’. ☺

Enjoy!

Roasted Vegetables with Smart Sausages®

Serves 4

Ingredients:

  • 4 pieces- Smart Sausages, Italian, Chorizo, or both
  • 1 large onion, chopped into large pieces
  • 1 portobello mushroom, or several smaller ones, chipped into large pieces
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 red cabbage, chopped into large pieces
  • 2 carrots, cut into bite sized pieces
  • Olive oil
  • Salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400° F.

Cut the Smart Sausages® Italian Style into bite sized pieces and line them in the bottom of a roasting pan. Cover with chopped veggies and sprinkle all with a little olive oil, salt and pepper to taste.

Bake for 30-40 minutes stirring every 10 to 15 minutes – the mushrooms and tomatoes will make it juicy.

This dish is delicious served hot over brown rice with a crusty baguette.

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

