//
You're reading...
Recipes

Father’s Day

I recently posted about how I’m immersed in reading The China Study. Well, I’m still reading it, and I continue to learn something new every time I pick it up. I’m usually not the type to try and push my beliefs onto others; in fact I’m quite the opposite. I think that everyone has the right to make up their own mind, and if what works for me works for you too, then great. However there is something so alarming about the information in this book that I can’t seem to keep it to myself!

So for Father’s Day, I’m sending my Dad a copy of the book. He’s someone who has several health concerns that – according to this book – could be dramatically improved with a change in his diet. So why not try and spread the word to someone I love, right?!

I’m also going to send him a collection of easy recipes to get started with (if he chooses to make the change of course). I thought it would be fun to share the collection I picked with everyone, so I made a mini presentation. You can view it online, or print it out to keep handy!

If you’re looking for a recipe for your Dad this Father’s Day that is popular even amongst the ‘meat and potatoes’ crowd – try Lightlife’s Mexican Spaghetti Sauce! I’m sure your Dad, veg or non veg, will love it!

Mexican Spaghetti Sauce

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Serves 10

Ingredients:

  • 1 package Smart Ground® Mexican
  •  ¾ cup onion
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 jar (26 oz.) marinara sauce
  • 1 can black beans, drained, rinsed
  • 1 can diced tomatoes, non drained
  • 1 cup frozen whole kernel corn
  • ¼ cup salsa
  • 1 can (4 oz.) diced green chilies
  • 1 Tbsp chili powder
  • ¼ tsp ground black pepper

Directions:

In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add onion, sauté until translucent.

In a large saucepan, combine Smart Ground® Mexican, spaghetti sauce, beans, tomatoes, corn, salsa, chilies, chili powder and pepper. Stir in sautéed onion. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat, simmer uncovered 20-30 minutes. Serve over spaghetti.

What are you doing for your Dad? Does anyone have an eco-friendly gift idea? A new recipe to share?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

