//
You're reading...
Recipes

Grilling with Lightlife

I’ve never been much of a griller myself. It could be because I’ve yet to live on my own in a place with a yard big enough for an actual grill though. 😛 After reading blog after blog with grilling recipes that literally started to make my mouth water, I decided it was time to purchase one – even if it has to be a tiny one!

To start my grilling career off right, I made Smart Sausages Smoked style kabobs with Vidalia onions, paired with Food & Wine Magazine’s Grilled Broccoli and Bread Salad with Pickled Shallots. Quite the combination if I do say so myself.

                    

                  

I think I chose a difficult ‘first time grilling’ recipe though – couldn’t just stick to the kabobs Rach!

Has anyone else tried to grill broccoli before? Well if you haven’t and are planning on trying to, my suggestion is to leave your pieces as large as possible for grilling. Let’s just say I ended up with several charred pieces of broccoli that were a lovely surprise to clean up after dinner!

Overall the meal was a huge success regardless of my stray broccoli pieces. The Smart Sausage Smoked style was a perfect compliment to the intense flavor of the pickled shallots. I’ll definitely be making this again – perhaps with a little less red pepper next time to bring the spice down.

Do you have a favorite grilling recipe, or do you tend to just throw whatever you have in the fridge on? Lightlife’s three varieties of veggie burgers and Smart Sausages are all perfect for the grilling season. Have any grilling tips? I’d love to hear them!

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

