//
You're reading...
Uncategorized

Summer Solstice

Being in nature is my thing. There is nothing that puts my mind more at ease than being outdoors on a beautiful day. I think it’s important to have a place in your life where you know you can go to get away – a place to call your place.

This is mine – but I’m not telling you where it is, it’s a secret! 😛

Today is the summer solstice, the longest day of the year. I’m not sure why today isn’t considered a holiday. Why wouldn’t we want to celebrate the day where we get to enjoy the longest span of sunshine all year?! Of course the first official day of summer is something to celebrate too – but I think it’s pretty wild to think about how the sun rose today at 5:14 this morning and won’t set until 8:30 tonight. That’s more than 15 hours of sunlight and never again in 2011 will it last quite that long!

So in order to properly celebrate (even if I’m the only one that thinks it’s appropriate), after work tonight I plan on heading over to my place for my official kick off to the summer hiking season. I don’t know about you – but when the days are long enough for me to still make it to an outdoor activity after I get out of work – nothing can make a frown last too long on this face.

Here are a few pictures from my hike this past weekend…

9 hawks flew off a ledge and into the sky right in front of me...I couldn't believe I got a picture of it!

I stopped on my way to work this morning to grab a bag of my favorite trail mix. I haven’t been too successful at saving it for tonight though!

What do you usually bring on a hike to eat? Are you celebrating the sun today?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

