//
You're reading...
Living Veggie

Forks Over Knives – Have you seen it?

“A film that can save your life.”- Roger Ebert, Chicago Sun-Times

Forks Over Knives is not just another movie about slaughter houses and why you should become a vegetarian. Its focus is not even on all of the terrible things that go on in the meat industry these days. It’s the first movie that I’ve seen that legitimately describes the health benefits of eating a vegan diet, and it does it while maintaining a relatively positive tone.

I’ve already sung my praise for The China Study – and since this movie really reinforces everything that the book tries to explain – I’m sure you can predict my reaction after seeing it. In addition to Dr. T. Colin Campbell’s findings, the movie also talks about findings from Dr. Caldwell Esselstyn and showcases several case studies that clearly demonstrate the dramatic improvements the switch to a vegan diet can provide to one that is struggling with various health issues.

 

What really hit home for me was seeing the individuals who undertook the challenge of eating vegan throughout the video, and the results that they ended up with. I was amazed. Nothing quite makes a piece of information more believable than seeing it with your own eyes.

My hat goes off to the creators of the movie – congratulations on a spectacularly moving, life changing film.

The down side is that it isn’t playing in theaters nationwide– I drove almost two hours to see it. However if it isn’t in a theater nearby, gather your family and friends and make a road trip out of it. Trust me, its well worth it!

Have you seen the film yet? What are your thoughts?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Forks Over Knives – Have you seen it?

  1. I have been wanting to see this movie but I missed it when it was showing locally. Friends who went just loved it. Can’t wait for it to come out on DVD!

    Posted by vegandeb | June 30, 2011, 12:28 am
  2. I haven’t seen it but now I want to! I recently read In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan and loved it. I have both vegan and vegetarian friends and wholeheartedly believe a plant based diet is best for us–especially given the way the animal industry has evolved. I am an omnivore, and probably will always be, but since becoming more aware of what I put into my body I consider myself more of a flexitarian because I consume a mostly vegetarian diet that occasionally includes meat. Furthermore, when I do eat meat it’s usually local/organic and as humane as possible.

    I like the fact that this movie doesn’t sound too “shaming” of meat eaters. I understand why vegetarians and vegans are so passionate about their lifestyles but I think the “guilt tripping” that sometimes occurs (my friends don’t do this) can lead people to “shut down” and not give those lifestyles a second thought…and that’s a shame (no pun intended)!

    Posted by Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life | July 3, 2011, 3:09 pm

Leave a Reply

