//
You're reading...
Recipes

The 4th of July: Lightlife, Liberty and the Pursuit of Deliciousness!

What are your plans for the 4th of July? Let me guess… a BBQ? 😛

I love a good BBQ, but for those of you who don’t, I can imagine that the 4th of July is probably anything but exciting for you when it comes to food. Lightlife’s Smart Sausages and Light Burgers are great options to throw on the grill in a pinch, but while planning my 4th of July celebrations this year I tried to think of what else I could make to change it up a little.

First things first – you can never go wrong with a fresh fruit salad.

I try to buy local fruit for my fruit salads – that way it’s as fresh as possible. Also, my secret ingredient is lemon juice. Nothing is worse than a fruit salad that has been sitting for too long and all of the juices have run together. I find that lemon juice delays the seeping together, if you will. Slice a lemon in half, remove the seeds, and squeeze the juices over the salad – it’s that easy.

Next on my menu are grilled garlic and tomato kabobs. Just mix together olive oil, minced garlic, fresh thyme leaves, and a little salt and pepper; brush it on a few tomatoes sliced in half, and throw them on the grill. So simple – but SO delicious and perfect for summer! You really can’t go wrong with this one.

Finally, for my main course, I’m thinking of a huge Panini pressed right on the grill! One year, for the meat eaters at our party, my mom made chicken on the grill that was cooked with a rock sitting on top of it. I remember because my job was to go and find a rock in our yard to cover in tin foil and I thought my mom was losing it….oh the jobs I used to get.

Anyway, I plan on making it with sautéed red peppers and onions, Diaya vegan cheddar cheese, and Smart Strips steak style on a whole Ciabatta loaf. Vegan Philly Cheese Steak anyone?? Be sure to wrap the sandwich in tin foil so the bread doesn’t immediately burn, then right before you are about to take it off you can throw it directly on the flame to add a nice grilled flavor to it. The rock sitting on top will make sure you get the Panini taste too, and not just a hot melt.

What are your plans for the holiday? Are you a fan of BBQ parties? Do you have a favorite Lightlife product on the grill?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “The 4th of July: Lightlife, Liberty and the Pursuit of Deliciousness!

  1. Plans = going downtown to watch fireworks over Lake Champlain and then go to “Reggae night” at Nectar’s Bar with a friend. Should be nice.

    Annd I am a fan of any activity that involves grilling! My favorite veggie to make on the grill is zucchini and summer squash tossed in olive oil, salt, and pepper — so simple yet so good. My favorite Lightlife product to grill is definitely the organic soy tempeh. It takes on whatever flavor I give it and has loads of protein!

    Posted by Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life | July 3, 2011, 3:01 pm
  2. I marinate it in something for at least two hours and at most overnight (though I’m sure a half hour would be fine if you’re impatient!)and then grill a few minutes on each side over medium heat. You can continue brushing it with the marinade as it grills, too, if you want to get fancy but usually I’m lazy and just throw it on and flip!

    Posted by Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life | July 3, 2011, 3:25 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

