//
You're reading...
Living Veggie

The Kojo Nnamdi Show: Living Vegan

What do you like to do while you’re cooking dinner?

Personally, I like to sing out loud even if there’s no music playing. It’s when I do my best work actually – a little salt and pepper here and a new song freshly mumbled there. Don’t be shy… I know there must be a few closet cooking singers out there. 😛

The other night I strayed from my usual music making session to listen to a special segment on The Kojo Nnamdi Show about veganism. Guests on the show included the author of Sweet Vegan, Emily Mainquist, associate publisher of VegNews Magazine, Colleen Holland, and the spokesperson for the American Dietetic Association , Joy DuBost, Ph.D, R.D..

The segment focused on the growing popularity of the vegan diet, common misconceptions of the lifestyle, and how to maintain a healthy balanced diet. They touched on the trend of Meatless Mondays, and how it’s sweeping the nation as many individuals and organizations embrace the concept. With these new trends we are seeing in America, the idea that veganism and vegetarianism are extremist militant ways of living is quickly becoming old news.

                                 

“As far as being a militant vegan – I think that is sort of the myth left over from when vegetarianism first came about in the 70s through the hippies, and I think that has changed drastically and it’s changing everyday now. Oprah did a one-hour vegan show a few months ago, Martha Stewart devoted a program to veganism, there’s always vegan books on the New York Times Best Sellers list… Veganism is definitely going mainstream. So I think in the large cities it’s not a big deal at all, and soon it will be that way around the country.” – Colleen Holland, VegNews

Joy DuBost provides nutritional information throughout the segment regarding how to maintain a vegan diet in a healthy way. Like with any diet, she explains that the most important part is to have a healthy balance between the foods you are eating to ensure you are getting the proper nutrients.

I found the whole show to be quite informative; however the one comment that stood out for me the most was one pertaining to how eating less meat is great for the environment.

“In a 2007 study by the United Nations – it confirmed factory farming creates more greenhouse gas emissions than all of the automobiles combined. Going vegan is the number one thing you can do for the environment… it takes an enormous amount of water and grain; we could feed the world if the world stopped eating animal products based on the grain we feed the animals on factory farms.” – Colleen Holland, VegNews

Talk about important pieces of information for vegans, vegetarians, and meat-eaters alike! I think the key thing to realize though, is that every individual decision you make to eliminate meat from your diet is a step towards helping the environment. In my opinion, the environmental factor does not only apply to those who never eat animal products. If it did, that would be like saying if I forget to recycle my bottle one day, my years of recycling efforts don’t count!

I encourage you to listen to the whole segment here: Living Vegan. I think you’ll find it to be the perfect cooking companion. Just be careful not to get too distracted that you ruin your meal!

What are your thoughts on veganism becoming more main stream? What about Meatless Mondays? Any tips for those trying to reduce the amount of meat in their diet?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “The Kojo Nnamdi Show: Living Vegan

  1. Ooh I definitely think veganism is becoming more main stream! People are realizing it’s about doing what’s best for your body in addition to what’s best for animals and the planet. I eat a lot of vegan meals (especially for an omnivore) and, though I love vegetables so it isn’t that hard for me, I reduce the amount of meat in my diet by using lots of cheese (vegetarian, not vegan), soy products, beans, etc. I also like to use portabella mushrooms if I want a heartier texture. I prefer how I feel when I eat less meat so it’s also self-reinforcing! 🙂

    P.S. I tried Lightlife’s marinara chicken yesterday and it was delicious! If I were vegan or vegetarian and craved a chicken flavor and texture, this would be my go-to. It’s good in it’s own right, too! So, uh, use lightlife products as replacements for meat in your diet, too!

    Posted by Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life | July 8, 2011, 9:45 am
    • That’s great Allie, I’m glad to hear you enjoyed our Smart Cutlets so much. Let me know if you get the chance to try our Sweet & Sour variety – it’s right up there with the Marinara in my book! 😉

      Posted by Blogitarian | July 11, 2011, 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

