//
You're reading...
Recipes

Summer Salad Recipes

1 tiny apartment + 1 old window air conditioner + 100° weather = 1 oven out of commission for way too long!

If ovens could speak, mine would be expressing its disappointment with me over the past couple of months. I have to admit; when it’s hot outside I cannot bring myself to make my apartment any more of a hot box than it needs to be. Who likes standing over a hot stove when you are already doing everything possible to stay cool?? I’d say that’s a little counterproductive!

I know a few of you may be able to relate to my neglect-of-the-oven-state so I want to share some great salad recipes that I’ve been making lately. Hope they keep you cool, and perfectly satisfied – enjoy!

Wild Rice and Chick’n Salad

Serves: 8

This recipe is perfect for lunch all by itself. My problem with a lot of salads is that they leave you still hungry – not this one though!

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Smart Strips® Chick’n
  • 3 cups cooked wild rice
  • 1 can sliced water chestnuts
  • ½ cup chopped green onions
  • 2/3 cup light mayonnaise (or vegan alternative)
  • 1/3 cup fat free milk (or vegan alternative)
  • 2 Tbsp lemon juice
  • ¼ tsp dried tarragon leaves
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 1 cup seedless red grapes
  • ½ cup unsalted cashews

Directions:

In a large bowl, combine the Smart Strips® Chick’n, rice, water chestnuts and green onions. In a small bowl, combine mayonnaise, milk, lemon juice, tarragon and pepper. Pour over chick’n mixture; toss to coat. Cover and refrigerate for 2-3 hours. Just before serving, fold in grapes and sprinkle with cashews.

Spicy ‘Steak’ Salad

Serves 4

This one is another great choice – the combination of the jalapeno, mint, and ginger brings a unique twist to a salad.

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Smart Strips® Steak
  • 1/3 cup lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp maple syrup (or honey)
  • 1 Tbsp light soy sauce
  • 1 Tbsp fresh basil
  • 2 tsp fresh mint leaves
  • 1 jalapeno pepper
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp fresh ginger root
  • 1 large red pepper
  • ½ medium cucumber
  • 6 cup mixed salad greens

Directions:

For dressing, combine the first five ingredients; set aside. In a medium non-stick skillet, coated with olive oil spray, sauté jalapeno, garlic, and ginger for 1 minute. Add Smart Strips® Steak and sauté 2-3 minutes, until heated through. Remove from heat. Add red pepper and cucumber; toss gently. Place mixed greens on plate; top with sauté mixture, reserve remaining liquid in pan. Add dressing to pan and bring to a boil. Drizzle over salad. Serve immediately, with hot crusty bread.

One of my all-time favorite salads though is mixed greens, tomatoes, toasted almond slices, Smart Wings Buffalo style, and ranch dressing.

Do you have a favorite salad recipe? What do you like to cook when it’s hot outside? What are you looking forward to cooking when the oven embargo is over?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Summer Salad Recipes

  1. Hi my name is kelly, I am on my last rope. I am in bad health. I am diabetic. So I don’t work. I am on food stamps. So I can’t see buying food then having food stamps. I would like to know if I can us my food stamps for your products for weight loss. please email me back. thanks kelly

    Posted by kelly | August 25, 2011, 3:51 am
    • Hi Kelly – thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I’m very sorry to hear of your health situation & I wish you all the best on your journey to getting healthy. From what I understand, you can use food stamps to purchase any food product at your local store which would include our products. To see if Lightlife products are available near you, please try our store locator: http://www.lightlife.com/storelocator.jsp

      I hope that helps!

      Posted by Blogitarian | August 25, 2011, 12:18 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

