//
You're reading...
Living Veggie

Who’s talking about eating meatless?

It seems as though every time I turn on the TV I’m hearing someone talk about eating vegan, or reducing the amount of meat in their diet! Is it just me, or does it seem as though people are really starting to catch on?!

When I saw Oprah, and Martha Stewart talk about the benefits of eating meatless on their television shows, I thought that was big news. I mean it is still big news – but now Bill Clinton is vegan, and Ellen has an entire website completely devoted to going vegan! Not to mention the Meatless Monday movement that has gone global…

In a segment on CNN, Sanjay Gupta MD talked with Clinton about his transformation to the vegan lifestyle and what it has done for him so far. After losing over 20 pounds and seeing firsthand how the change in his diet has dramatically improved his health, Clinton is a strong supporter of going vegan and is trying to spread the word about the importance of dietary choices, particularly with our children and their school lunches. He would like to see our future generations not have to deal with the same heart issues he’s had to deal with in his lifetime.

“It’s turning a ship around before it hits the iceberg, but I think we’re beginning to turn it around”- Clinton

If you ask me I’d say Ellen – along with everyone else supporting the trend of eating less meat – is trying to spread the same message. I know we are!

We’re trying to spread the word by showing people that eating meatless doesn’t have to be complicated or bland – which is why we are working hard in our kitchens to create brand new recipes to share with you all soon. We already have some great ideas on our website, but start checking back later this month for some new and delicious creations!

What do you think about the movement to eat less meat? Do you have friends or family trying it too? I see how popular the topic has been in the media, but I’d love to hear what the word on the street is!

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

3 thoughts on “Who’s talking about eating meatless?

  1. I have been a vegetarian for 11 years and nolonger worry about high blood pressure, cholesterol, cancer or heart disease. It is a lifestyle change that really works. If someone told me I had a chronic illness, I would be Vegan immediatly. See my BLOG at http://georgefebish.wordpress.com and read the book at http://georgefebish.com

    Posted by George Febish | October 14, 2011, 4:24 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: A Thanksgiving Giveaway! « Blog-itarian - November 14, 2011

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

