//
You're reading...
Chef Cindi Avila, Recipes

Pot Stickers – inspired by yours truly!

When I’m trying to follow a recipe in my kitchen, I often have a hard time sticking to exactly what the instructions tell me to do. It’s not because I don’t trust the recipe – I just always find myself needing to add or subtract things as I go. The more I learn to use recipes as guidelines and not rules – the more I enjoy cooking!

I like to think of recipes as inspiration to create delicious meals using whatever is in my refrigerator. If I happen to have everything on the list, great, but if not, I’m sure I’ve got something else that works!

Last week I decided to make one of my all-time favorite recipes from Chef Cindi – Pot Stickers with Smart Ground® Original.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cindi Avila’s Pot Stickers

Featuring Smart Ground® Original

Serving Amount: 15 pot stickers

Ingredients:

1 package pot stickers (I used Nasoya – found near Lightlife items in most grocery stores!)

1 package Lightlife Smart Ground Original

3 tablespoons of garlic (minced)

3 scallions (chopped)

3 tablespoons of soy sauce

3 tablespoons olive oil

Vegetable Oil

Directions:

Preheat olive oil in sauté pan on medium high heat. After hot, add Lightlife Smart Ground, garlic, scallion and soy sauce and saute until slightly browned. Put a scoop of mixture in center of each pot sticker. Fold and roll up pot sticker then seal edges with water. Heat ¼ inch layer of vegetable oil in sauté pan. Fry pot sticker for two minutes on each side or until brown. Serve with soy sauce on the side for dipping.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sitting in my fridge though was a beautiful red cabbage, ginger, and a few carrots that I simply couldn’t resist. So I said to myself – why resist!?

                   

             

                   

Here you have it – Pot Stickers inspired by yours truly!

How do you get creative while cooking? Do you have a favorite Lightlife recipe that you add your own personal touch to?

Don’t forget to stay tuned for new recipes coming soon from the Lightlife kitchen, and perhaps a few of my own personal inspirations as well!

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

4 thoughts on “Pot Stickers – inspired by yours truly!

  1. I am so happy to find this recipe. I have not tried it yet but will soon. Can I steam these instead of frying?

    Posted by Carol | January 26, 2012, 10:27 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: New Year’s Eve Party Appetizers! « Blog-itarian - December 22, 2011

  2. Pingback: Easy Vegetarian Soup Recipes to take the chill out… « Blog-itarian - January 26, 2012

Leave a Reply

