//
You're reading...
How To..., Living Veggie

So much basil, so little time!

So you say you have basil coming out of your ears, and you aren’t sure what to do with it all? Mmmm yea…me too!

I’m not sure what happened to my basil plant this year, but boy did it sustain my need for Pesto Pizza with Italian Smart Sausages throughout the summer! I must have done something right because even into October I’ve been encountering what I’d like to call, basil overflow.

In hopes of taking advantage of the heaps I had growing outside before the first frost arrived, I called my trusted cooking advisor –better known as Mama Blog-itarian – and of course she knew just what to do. Now I get to share it with you all! 🙂

STEP ONE: In your food processor, combine one tablespoon of olive oil for every two cups of basil.

STEP TWO: Pulse the ingredients until they are the desired consistency of your favorite basil-related recipes

STEP THREE: Line a cookie sheet with wax paper and spoon the basil mixture in clumps onto the sheet. Place the tray in the freezer, and voila! Frozen basil clumps portioned perfectly for your next sauce!

                     

After they’ve been frozen overnight, pop’em into a resealable bag and you’ve got fresh basil whenever you need well into fall! (or maybe even into winter if you can manage to not use them all before then)

                     

Do you have a favorite way to preserve fresh veggies or herbs for the colder months? How about a recipe idea that I can use my basil clumps in? I think Italian Meatballs with homemade tomato basil sauce is on my menu for next week!

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “So much basil, so little time!

  1. A friend of mine would mix the basil and olive oil and fill an ice cube tray to freeze perfect square chunks.
    She gave me a baggie full of about 6 squares and I could just grab a cube or 2 as needed for fresh basil in the winter!

    Posted by Julie Collins | October 13, 2011, 4:30 pm

Leave a Reply

Twitter Updates

