//
You're reading...
Recipes

Crispy Apple Halloween Treats

When I was a kid I used to go from door to door on Halloween for hours with my girlfriends, racing to see who could go home with the biggest pillow case of candy. Every year I would end up with enough candy to last me straight through the holidays, so Mom would have to enforce what we called the candy rules. Looking back, I can’t imagine how she managed to deal with my incessant nagging every hour as I checked to see if enough time had passed so I could have more. 😛

A few years have gone by since those days, and even though I still absolutely love costumes and carving pumpkins – I have yet to miss a year of dressing up – I have a slightly different outlook on my trick or treating candy consumption! No, I don’t go trick or treating anymore, but I do tend to buy way more candy than I need for the amount of kids on my block. Whoops!

So in an attempt to minimize my chocolate intake, this year’s Halloween treat at my house is homemade apple chips.

Step ONE: Preheat your oven to 250°. Then wash, slice, and de-core the apples.

Tip: Make sure you don’t slice them too thin…or you’ll end up with burnt crispies like this one…

Step TWO: Line a baking sheet with wax paper, arrange the apple slices in a single layer, and sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar.

Step THREE: Bake for half an hour, carefully flip each slice and re-sprinkle. Then bake for roughly another half an hour.

I plan on handing these out to my trick-or- treaters this year, but only because I know all of their families. While I think it’s great to encourage a healthy alternative to all that candy, I have to mention that handing out homemade things to strangers isn’t exactly a best practice if you will. So if you are looking for a fun treat for your family, yourself, or your tightknit neighborhood, I say go for it!

A tasty treat that needs no candy rules!!

What is your favorite Halloween treat? Do you have a sweet tooth like me, or are you a master at homemade healthy alternatives?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

One thought on “Crispy Apple Halloween Treats

  1. These look amazing and simple! I have to find the time to try making them 🙂

    Posted by Allie @ Healthy Balance, Healthy Life | October 30, 2011, 6:02 pm

Leave a Reply

