//
You're reading...
Recipes

It’s National Tortilla Chip Day… Got Vegan Dip?

Who knew that tortilla chips had their very own day?! I sure didn’t, but I’m happy I found out! Any reason to make a vegan Mexican dip recipe, is a worthy holiday in my book. 😉

But seriously, today is actually national tortilla chip day! I find it comforting to know that whenever you are in need of a celebration, rest assured there is always something out there to be celebrated.

To give my tortilla chips their proper recognition, I made Lightlife’s super easy Hot Mexican Dip with Smart Ground Original. Dip your celebratory tortilla chips, or wrap some up in a tortilla wrap if you feel like getting fancy. I ate it with chips on my first time around, but a wrap is on my menu for lunch tomorrow! Yum.

Hot Mexican Dip

Ingredients:

  • 1 pkg Smart Ground Original
  • 1 ½ tsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 can fat-free refried beans
  • 1 can diced green chilies
  • ¾ cup taco sauce
  • 2 cups vegan cheddar shreds
  • 1 cup vegan sour cream
  • 1/3 cup green onions
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

Directions:

Crumble Smart Ground® Original into a large bowl. Add chili powder and onion powder. Set aside.

In a 13 X 9 X 2 baking dish coated with olive oil, layer the beans, Smart Ground Original mixture, green chilies, taco sauce, and 1 1/2 c cheese.

Cover and bake at 350° for 25-30 minutes or until cheese melts and bubbles around the edges.

Cool for five minutes. Spread sour cream on top; sprinkle with green onions and remaining cheese. Serve with tortilla chips.

Have you had a tortilla chip yet today?

I’ve always wanted to make my own, it’s been on my to-do list for a while now, and I still have yet to try! Anyone have a homemade tortilla chip recipe they can share?

Rachael

Lightlife Team Member

About Blogitarian

Lightlife's resident blogger and veggie enthusiast, Rachael, gives you an insight into the vegetarian world as well as a peek at what’s new in Turners Falls.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a comment